NASA unveils the discovery of New Exoplanet

0
24

NASA held a news meeting on Wednesday, February 22 to discuss its “new discoveries on planets that circle stars other than our sun, known as exoplanets,” as indicated by an announcement from the organization.

The news gathering started at 1 p.m. EST (1800 GMT). No different specifics about the “new discoveries” had been revealed before the conference, but the key points of interest about the discovery were banned by the diary Nature until 1 p.m. EST, as indicated by the announcement. The news gathering was graced by five speakers: Thomas Zurbuchen, relate executive of the Science Mission Directorate at NASA home office; Michaël Gillon, cosmologist at the University of Liège in Belgium; Sean Carey, administrator of NASA’s Spitzer Science Center at Caltech/IPAC in Pasadena; Nikole Lewis, stargazer at the Space Telescope Science Institute in Baltimore; and Sara Seager, teacher of planetary science and material science at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Sara Seager is a main exoplanet researcher who, in addition to other things, is dealing with the issue of how to recognize bio marks in exoplanet climates. The recent update from the researchers reveals that NASA has discovered 7 new exoplanets about the size of our planet Earth, orbiting a single star. The start named TRAPPIST-1 has 3 exoplanets in its habitable zone. The Space Telescope Science Institute is a cosmic research focus and in addition the mission operations place for the Hubble Space Telescope and NASA’s planet-chasing Kepler telescope. Taking after the news meeting, the five researchers took part in a Reddit Ask Me Anything (AMA) session at 3 p.m. EST (2000 GMT), in which individuals from general society offered conversation starters to the researchers by means of a Reddit message board.

LEAVE A REPLY